21 Day Detox – Gluten Free Pancakes

Well I am on day 7 of my 21 day detox. Let me tell you it hasn’t been easy the no coffee part has been killing me just a “bit” seriously caffeine withdrawals are serious folks! But that is not to say that I’ve been miserable throughout this journey it’s actually been pretty amazing, getting to know my body better and learning that there are foods that I can simply do without, is helping me become a better me, can I get an Amen! This journey is pushing me in so many many ways and I am excited to share it with you all! Remember this journey is being shared via images from my iPhone, my usual images will be back after the detox!

This week I made gluten – free pancakes two times and the first time I didn’t enjoy them as much because I really missed the agave sweeter that I usually drown them in. But this morning they tasted amazing!!! Could it be that my body and mind are starting to ween of sugar? Or was I just really hungry!

20130811-115652.jpg

Much of what I put in my body is out of habit and breaking the coffee habit hasn’t been easy. Yesterday I almost broke but instead I had an Evolution Fresh Carrot/Orange juice with Raw protein powder. The barista at my local Starbucks was awesome enough to blend it for me frappe style! Better yet I have been saving money since the husband and I have not been making coffee stops every day…

20130811-115920.jpg

Gluten Free Pancakes
– 2 cups Almond Flour
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tbsp of good vanilla or
– 1 tsp of pumpkin spice mix
– 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries
– 2 eggs
– 1 tbsp of melted coconut oil
– 1 to 1 1/2 cups of almond milk or water
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Then add in the already whisked and incorporated wet ingredients. Whisk dry and wet ingredients thoroughly, until batter is smooth. The batter should not be thick. If you feel that your batter is too thick, add a few tablespoons of water or almond milk at a time until the batter has smoothed out.

Heat skillet on medium-high heat and add organic coconut oil for greasing, enough to grease entire pan generously. I use a stainless steel skillet.

Test the skillet with drops of water. If it sizzles, your skillet is ready.

Pour about 3/4 cup of pancake batter on to the heated skillet Repeat.

Add some blueberries.

Once tiny bubbles form in your pancake, carefully flip with a thin metal spatula. Cook a minute or two. Do not over cook! Overcooking gluten-free pancakes will make them tough.

If the batter thickens as it stands, add a few more tablespoons of water to thin it out.

Serve with fresh blueberries and almond butter.

Make sure you eat these right off the skillet, gluten-free pancakes will get tough after awhile.

2 thoughts on “21 Day Detox – Gluten Free Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Weekend Fun + Polar RC3 GPS Review — nHerShoes

Leave a Reply

