Blueberry Galette

Blueberry_tart_web-18 copy

Whole30 has come and gone! I completed the challenge and I must say I did pretty darn well. I will be posting more of the recipes that I used on my whole30 experience on here but if you can’t wait you can follow me on Instagram and check them out there.

Tomorrow is Valentines Day, I have never been one to make big plans for the day, I feel that it’s pretty easy for us to have dates since it’s just the two of us. For Valentines day I prefer to stay at home – cook dinner, drink some bubbly and make dessert together. Last year we had chocolate fondue with all sorts of great things to dip into it. This year we will be sharing a berry galette. I might switch it up and substitute the blueberries for strawberries.

Blueberry_tart_web-1 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-5 copyDate nights at home with husband are my favorite.

Blueberry_tart_web-9 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-11 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-14 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-28 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-13 copy

Blueberry Galette
1 -Pie Crust – I used this recipe from Not Without Salt and rolled it on almond flour
1 -container of Organic Blueberries
Zest of 1 lemon
1 -tsp of fresh lemon juice
1 -tbsp of good Vanilla Extract
1/2 -tbsp of brown sugar
1 -tbsp of Organic Honey
1/3 -Cold Butter Cubed Pinch of Sea Salt
1 -tbsp of Almond Flour to bind and a little extra to stretch the dough on
1 -Packet of raw sugar for topping

Instructions

Depending on the recipe that you use for the pie dough, follow the instructions accordingly. In a bowl mix the blueberries, vanilla, lemon juice, zest, salt, sugar, honey, and almond flour. Mix well and allow all ingredients to bind. Place all ingredients on the rolled out pie crust, fold in the edges of the crust-this can be very rustic. Place the butter on top of the berries. Brush some of the leftover lemon juice on the folded crust and then sprinkle the raw sugar on it. Bake at 450 degrees for 12-15 minutes until browned.

Blueberry_tart_web-28 copy

And because I’m obsessed with Downton Abbey – ” i would never be happy with any one else as long as you walked the earth” Blueberry_tart_web-19 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-20 copy

Blueberry_tart_web-23 copy

Leave a Reply

