Whole30 Challenge – Day 17

Salsa_verde_web-7

I have officially completed 17 days of the whole30 challenge and to be honest I might have to turn it into a whole60 challenge. I’ve had some bumps along the road and this challenge has taught me to me more strict with my Paleo eating. If anything this challenge has made me more passionate about food and nutrition. My whole life I have battled with my weight, I am by no means over-weight but I have always felt like I was. For anyone who deals or has dealt with weight issues I really encourage you to take the whole30 challenge. Whole30 gives you a better understanding of what food really is. Real food…sounds simple right? But so many of us are so far from that. More than ever people are suffering from nutritional deficiencies, we have more food than any other time in history yet we are constantly making the wrong choices…simply put food should not come from a box, can, or drive thru. We need to stop turning our  backs on mother nature…look at your pantry and clear out all the crap!!! No more box foods…

Salsa_verde_web-9Salsa_verde_web-11 Salsa_verde_web-10This recipe is one of my favorite recipes so far- Roasted Tomatillo Salsa with Cactus (nopales) and beef shoulder.

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

2- lbs of Tomatillos
2- Garlics
1-Red Onion
8-Chiles de Arbol
1- Cilantro chopped
Salt to taste

Place all ingredients in a sheet pan. Drizzle with olive oil and roast for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Place everything in the food processor, and blend to a coarse purée.  Add Kosher salt to taste. Pour in the juice of half a lemon.

Cactus

1 bag of cleaned and chopped cactus
1 garlic
1/2 tsp of salt
1/4 sweet onion

Place all ingredients in a pot with water and bring to a boil, add a 1/2 tsp of salt. When the cactus has become darker in color remove from the pot and drain. Rinse with cold water and allow all the gel to drain out.

Beef Shoulder with Cactus and Tomatillo Salsa

In a large pot add olive oil, chopped onion, diced 2 lbs of beef shoulder, 1 minced garlic, salt, and pepper and cook the meat until browned. When meat has browned add the cooked cactus and let simmer together for about 2 minutes. Let all the flavors mingle together. When the flavors have mingled together add the salsa and bring to a low simmer.

P.S

Cactus is a gelatinous vegetable which is perfect cleansing the liver and help clean everything out of your intestinal track

photo(2)Some of my meals via Instagram

Leave a Reply

