Cafesito Mexicano

Some of the best times of my life have been spent around the dinner table. Food has a way of bringing people together and making us forget that self-imposed guilt of needing to be productive. These fleeting moment in our lives always end or start with a cup of coffee…before we discovered an automatic coffee brewer, you think I’m kidding when I say discover…my parents did not own an automatic coffee machine until I brought one home at the age of 20. I was excited to give it to my parents because I knew they would love it-they did. It added some color to our counter-tops, they rarely used it, because we always found ourselves making “cafe de la holla”.

People have been brewing coffee this was for many many years! Don’t get me wrong I enjoy the new and fancy ways of brewing coffee. No one enjoys and iced drip coffee more than I do but “cafe de la holla” makes a delicious cup of coffee and it comes with many memories.

Ingredients

– 8 cups of water boiled

– 1 1/2 cups of freshly ground coffee (I used a Salvadoran Blend from Northbound Coffee Roasters)

– 1 stick of cinnamon

– 2 orange peels

– Chai tea blend

Instructions

Bring the water to a boil. When the water is boiling add the coffee and lets it simmer for a few minutes until all coffee is extracted. Bring to a low simmer and add the orange peel, cinnamon, and chai blend. Sweeten to taste. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

