Seasonal Fare

Happy Thursday! Hope everyone’s week is going great…I’ve spent mine wondering when Fall will make an appearance, I’m getting tired of drinking cold pumpkin spice lattes and look forward to waking up to crisp cool mornings. Anyway now that I am done rambling about mother nature, a few days ago I had a few friends ask me how I knew so much about food ( I don’t) they wanted to know how I knew so much about weird fruits and vegetables. As you all know I am passionate about farmers markets and supporting local agriculture so without a doubt that that led us to the topic of why buying at the farmers market is important and the benefits  of it. There are many benefits, like learning about seasonal produce and being introduced to all sorts of fruits and veggies that are not sold at conventional grocery stores. Buying seasonal produce also provides an exciting opportunity to try new foods and to experiment with seasonal recipes. And it simply tastes better!

Here is a small list of some of the produce you will find at the Farmers Market, remember that many varieties are introduced!

Fall/Winter : September – February

– Acorn Squash

– Apples

– Beets

– Brussel Sprouts

– Butternut Squash

– Cool Season Greens

– Garlic

– Kale

– Kohlrab

– Leeks

– Pears

– Pomegranates

– Pumpkins

– Spinach

– Sweet Potatoes

 

 

Leave a Reply

