Basil-Peach Simple Syrup – Jasmine Green Tea

As you probably know by now, Johnny and I  love the farmers’ market. It literally is a weekend must. Luckily Redlands has three markets, one on Thursday and two on Saturday morning. Something about Saturday morning market makes my heart fill with joy. We have a must list but we always love coming home with a large variety of greens and new things we’ve never tried before. At the moment I have fallen in love with my ability to grow food in my front and back yard…who would’ve thought. Every Saturday morning I look forward to visiting the Rolling Hills Herbs & Annuals stand and picking up new heirloom edibles for my garden. A while back I picked up a 1″ plug of sweet heirloom basil. That 1″ plug has turned into an out of control bush that grows bigger and faster every time I cut it. So in my desperate attempt to consume as much basil as possible in forms other than pesto and an add-on to pasta I have experimented with it in many forms and adding to drinks seems to be one of my favorite. The weather has been scorching so this drink was a nice little refresher.

This tea is super easy to make! Boil  1 cup of organic sugar and 1 cup of water until sugar dissolves. Add basil and peaches and let it sit for about 45 minutes. Brew a batch of your favorite tea. I like green tea! Mix 3 parts tea with 1 part simple syrup. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

