Lavender Cream & Pound Cake

I’m what you’d call a bread addict.  Whether we’re talking about a warm, chewy bagel or a fresh out of the oven crusty loaf,  I don’t discriminate. Pound cake is one of my favorite indulgences, so humble and ready to be dressed with whatever my heart desires. This past weekend presented the ideal time to whip up a loaf and dress eat it up with blueberries from the Farmers Market and freshly whipped lavender cream. Quiet Saturday mornings are seldom for us, specially during busy wedding season. The smell of vanilla pound cake in the oven made the morning much sweeter, like therapy. I followed this recipe and while the result was even better than I had hoped for, I will continue to proclaim that I hate baking because freshly made bread is far too dangerous. I topped the bread with lavender infused whip cream and blueberries! Seriously some of my favorite things. I love lavender! I enjoyed this an iced coffee.

Lavender Whip Cream

  • 1 cup – Organic Whipping Cream
  • 1 tsp – Fresh Lavender tea (strong brew)
  • 1 tbsp – Raw Sugar (I like to feel the sugar grains in the cream)
  • 1 tsp – Organic Vanilla Extract

Instructions

Start with cold whipping cream in a cold bowl. Make sure the beaters (electric or handheld) are cold and start beating the cream. Add vanilla and lavender and beat until soft peaks start to form. Add the sugar and continue beating until peaks do not fall off the whisk.

Leave a Reply

