Spring Spirit Salad

Dear Rainbow Chard

Where have you been all my life?

Love Cynthia

It happens often I fall head over heals for new to me foods and dishes…but this time it happened with a green, rainbow chard has changed my life, that of my husband, and future kids.

I have  to admit that I have absolutely no memory of ever eating rainbow chard.  I suppose that it’s not a very common ingredient.  At least not in our diets. It doesn’t appear on restaurant menus too often. To be quite honest I had never paid much attention to it at the grocery store. Saturday morning I picked up a bunch at the Farmer’s Market. There it was piled high in a mountain of rainbow steams and beautiful green leaves.  Not really sure how I lived 24 years without encountering it. But now that we have met it has not failed to inspire me. I am still learning how to use it.

This salad encompasses all of the color and flavors that are popping up all over the farmers market. The bitter rainbow chard paired with a sweet orange honey vinaigrette is absolutely amazing. The quinoa adds texture and a dose of goodness… I decided to add some mango to sweeten the deal… It was the perfect poolside meal.

instructions –

Cook the quinoa according to package instructions. Add some chopped garlic, sea salt, and black pepper.

Make the orange vinaigrette by mixing the freshly squeezed orange, 1 tbsp of olive oil, sea salt, back pepper, two tbsp of organic honey, and poppy seeds in a mason jar…shake until emulsified.

Chop the rainbow chard and mango and toss everything together in bowl! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

