True Foods – DIY Tuscan Kale Salad

I love Kale…that is true! It’s wonderful and nutrient dense. I use it in so many dishes and shakes but lately I was craving something else. I wanted to spice it up a bit. But could not come up with the right combination of spice. Until a few weeks ago…I was in Santa Monica and  had a food revelation when I had the Tuscan Kale Salad at True Foods. Seriously if you have not tried it, you must! Go!!! This salad hit every spot it was so delicious I almost wanted to lick my bowl!

I have been obsessing over it since then. I needed a dose of extra-wholesome goodness. Last week kale started to pop up in my farmers market so I picked  some up and decided to re-create my favorite salad! Chopped up green goodness tossed in a vibrant- lemony parmesan dressing…it’s like spring in your mouth. You would never believe that this recipe only calls for a handful of ingredients. But make sure that you use the best.

DIY Tuscan Kale Salad

  • 1 bunch  kale
  • 2 thin slices of artisan bread ( I get mine from the Rustic Loaf)
  • 1/2 roasted garlic clove
  • kosher salt to taste
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, plus additional for garnish
  • 3 tablespoons of GOOD extra-virgin olive oil
  • Freshly squeezed juice of one lime or lemon
  • 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste

How To –

Remove the middle rib from the kale and thinly chop.

If using the bread, toast it until golden brown on both sides and dry throughout. Tear into small pieces and pulse in a food processor until the mixture forms coarse crumbs, if you like finer crumbs keep pulsing. If you don’t have a food processor try to crumble it with your fingers.

Turn the roasted garlic into a paste by lightly pressing a knife against it. Transfer the garlic to a small bowl. Add 1/4 cup cheese, 3 tablespoons oil, lime juice, pepper flakes, and black pepper. I pour mine in a mason jar and shake until combined. Taste, if salt is needed then add some. Pour the dressing over the kale and toss very well, the dressing will be thick and need lots of tossing to coat the leaves. Let the salad sit for a few minutes, then serve topped with the bread crumbs.

I paired my salad with a toasted pita bread…enjoy however you want and the ad-ons are endless. And by the way I actually shot the images above…I figured since food is my passion and food photography makes me smile I should challenge myself and try to learn how to photograph food… 🙂

Leave a Reply

