Roasted Cauliflower Mash + Miso and Garlic

 

I’ve been called a carb queen before, I think that’s because I cannot resist any form of carb goodness. I love all form of carbs – pasta, fresh bread, cake, and potatoes! I love mashed potatoes they are a weakness that I can’t ever resist! But lets face it they are not the healthiest specially when they are the loaded kind…which what I like šŸ™‚ Dont judge me…

I had heard about cauliflower mash and have been meaning to try it. It’s rainy here in California and I’m a little under the weather so obviously this called for mashed potatoes…right? Instead I decided to make cauliflower mash with roasted garlic and miso paste. Let me tell you! This is delicious!!! And oh so guilt free!

This dish is light enough to enjoy on a warm summer day evening yet comforting enough for a under the weather rainy spring day. Regardless of where you are in the seasons I encourage you to try this recipe. It’s a great way to introduce another veggie into your diet and a perfect way to make your kids eat cauliflower.

Roasted Cauliflower Mash
  • 1 cauliflower
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 roasted garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoons Miso Paste (or 1 tablespoon regular miso paste)
  • Chopped Basil ( or any other herb you would like)
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400F. On a lined baking sheet toss the cauliflower, onion, and garlic with the olive oil. Spread into a single layer and generously sprinkle salt and pepper.

Place in oven and roast for about 35 minutes or until the veggies start to slightly caramelize.

Remove from oven and carefully pour roasted veggies into a high speed blender. Add miso paste and blend until it is a smooth but thick consistency. Pour into a bowl and taste, adjust seasoning if needed.

Leave a Reply

