Super Food Shake – Bee Pollen + Hemp

Super-food would be an understatement for this morning shake. Bee Pollen and Hemp are two good for you foods. I’ve talked about my obsession with hemp here.

But Bees!!! The little bee!  I have a love hate relationship with bees. I run and hide whenever I see them. I think that’s fear, maybe even paranoia…But I also love them because I understand how vital they are to everything we do. I seriously suggest that you watch the documentary “Vanishing of the Bees“? My husband thinks that I am obsessed with bees…He might be right. I love bees! There I said it. What they do and the amazing things they produce are infinitely mind-blowing! Anyone who knows me knows that I am a  HUGE raw honey fan and lets not talk about beeswax. Bee products fill my home, tummy, make-up bag, and medicine cabinet. But none come as close to being my favorite as Bee Pollen. I have been consuming Bee Pollen since I can remember my mom is a huge fan and a staple in her home and now mine.  Not only is bee pollen delicious, versatile, and astonishingly inexpensive, it’s also a super-food and soooo good for you, like times infinity.

My mom started consuming bee pollen when she was told that it provided allergy relief. My dad and half of her kids have allergies including me. That’s how I was introduced to it. Bee pollen is a super high-energy whole food that supplies our bodies with nearly every single nutrient the human body needs to survive. Yes it’s true. Still don’t believe me, let me give you more facts or just ask your grandma I guarantee you she has used it before. Grandparents always know more than we do. Bee pollen is very high in protein, containing between 20-30%, including all 22 amino acids. This little golden gem is loaded with enzymes. If you eat like most Americans do then your diet is lacking lots of enzymes, that’s just how modern diets are. Enzymes are the little compounds that help us break down and digest food, one reason why adding raw foods to your diet is so important. Supplementing the diet with bee pollen is excellent all the time, but especially when we’ve been indulging in, platano fritos and sushi. Bee pollen has it all including vitamins and minerals!!! Try it! I promise you will love it. Try it on granola, yogurt, fruit salads, everything.

Bee Pollen Smoothie

serves 2

  • 1 cup coconut  milk (or other milk)
  • 1 cup strawberries (frozen are fine)
  • 1  banana
  • 1 scoop of hemp hearts or hemp protein or both
  • 1/2 tsp of chia or poppy seeds
  • 1 Tbsp of bee pollen (if you are new to this make sure to start with 1/4 of Tbsp)
  • Organic coconut shavings for garnish

Directions:

1. Put everything in a blender and whir it up! Drink immediately.

You can make your smoothie out of anything you have on hand and/or what is in season – this is simply what I had today!

2 thoughts on “Super Food Shake – Bee Pollen + Hemp

Leave a Reply

