Vegan Nut Parfait – Guiltless Valentine Day Dessert

My husband and I will be celebrating our second Valentines Day as husband and wife. I can’t believe how fast time is going by. I constantly have to remind myself to slow down and enjoy every day that I get to spend with him. Having worked in the restaurant industry I tend to stay home on days such a Valentines Day, New Years, and anything that brings out the masses to dining out. I think I’m a bit traumatized.  Instead we dine in!

This healthy dessert recipe is great for Valentines Day and any day for that matter. It’s easy to make, packed with goodness, and can be made ahead of time. Seriously its amazing I was first introduced to it at Native Foods… It became a ritual for me. Bikram yoga and Peanut Butter Parfait!

Try it, you’ll like (maybe love) it!

And it’s easy…..

Peanut Butter Parfait

  • 1 pack of Firm Tofu (I get mine at Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup of Vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of vanilla Soy milk
  • 1/2 cup organic peanut butter
  • 3 vegan cinnamon cookies
  • 1/2 cup of coconut
  • 1/3 cup carob chips

In a blender or food processor blend the tofu, nut butter, agave, and vanilla extract. Add soy milk as needed. If you are using a blender you might have to stop and move the mixture around with a fork. When you get a smooth consistency add the carob chips and coconut, blend some more to incorporate the ingredients. Meanwhile crush the cinnamon cookies and chop up the almonds (I used an assortment of nuts). Place about 1 tbsp of the crush cookies into the bottom of each parfait glass. Pipe or spoon in a layer of peanut butter mousse. Add a layer of crushed cookies and shredded coconut repeat layers . Top with chopped almonds, coconut, and some carob chips.

Get creative! Add some melted chocolate & berries. Whatever you want.

6 thoughts on “Vegan Nut Parfait – Guiltless Valentine Day Dessert

    • Yes try it!!! Its amazing and the mousse can be added to a butt kicking protein shake… I tried it this morning. Just add a banana, soy milk or water, hemp hearts, flax seed oil and instant coffee!!! Taste like Ben & Jerry Chunky Monkey without the chunky!

  1. 1/4 c of vanilla extract? That’s all I can taste.. So bummed because it was expensive to make and I can’t eat this. I wonder how to fix it.. 😦

    • Ru

      Sorry to hear that maybe the type of vanilla that you used could have something to do with iy. Or perphaps I like vanilla more…not sure what happened…but the fix is pretty easy…add more tofu. Start with 1/4 of the pack, taste, and then add more as you go. I know this works because last time I made it I add it a littl too much liquid and found that the tofu both tickened it back up but also unsweetened it…Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

