Why we Juiced

This week we took a break from food! There has not been much cooking going on in our home. Because we are juicing! And a weeks worth of juice recipes does not feel or sound all that exciting and frankly some of my juice blends are not that photogenic (they are a dirty water brown color :-/)

But since I have been posting my daily juice breakfast on Facebook and Instagram I have gotten a few questions. Here are some.

“Is that like juice fasting or the master cleanse?”

Master cleanse no, juice fasting yes, they are essentially the same thing – a liquid diet of fresh pressed fruit and vegetable juices, some “juice fast promote green powder or store-bought juice. I feel like processed powders or juices defeat the purpose of detoxifying.  What we are doing can be referred to as a juice cleanse/detox.

This is a good time of year to go on a juice diet because the weather is warming up (well in most places, here in California we’ve had winter summer, this week it finally started cooling down) so more fruits and vegetables are starting to pop up in our farmer markets.

How does it feel do you feel tired?

Everyone is different and your body’s reaction to a juicing will be different from mine. If I tell you what to expect, you will be disappointed if you don’t experience the same results. I go through caffeine withdrawals.But I have lots of energy. Run 3 miles a day kind of energy.

What does the Juice do?

A juice fast is basically a reboot and major detoxification of your body. You are drinking fresh juices that are loaded with nutrients, vitamins,  minerals, and antioxidants — you’re giving your body a chance to divert lots of energy from digestion to cleansing.

Are you hungry?
No, I feel cravings. I crave things that I usually do not eat such as donuts, fries, greasy, salty, sweet foods. But the cravings come and go.

How long does it last for?
We are juicing for a week but I know of people who have juiced up to 60 days. Do your research before starting. Before and after juicing I make a point of eating mostly raw, avoid all processed foods, all fast food and alcohol.

Do you lose weight?

Yes, but if you are not ready to make real changes and become proactive in learning about the foods that you are consuming, the weight will come back right away. A detox is the perfect way to make the transition into smarter and healthier food choices. Trust me after juicing saying no to the morning sugar latte and bagel is easy. I usually drink my coffee black or with a splash of soy but I have a weakness for bagels. Therefore instead of using store-bought bagels I switched to Ezekiel English muffins and started making my own vegan bagels using this recipe .

What are you eating? Can you send me your recipes?

To give you an idea of what we are consuming, here are some of our favorite combinations, they are yummy!  We usually go for 3-4 juices in total everyday, so I pick and choose from what I have on hand and juice. But this is what it typically looks like. You will need to re-stock every other day.

Morning:
-2 white grapefruits, 5 carrots, 1 piece fresh ginger
-3 pears, 4 strawberries, 1 lemon
-3 oranges, 2 apples, 3 celery sticks

Afternoon:
-2 large beetroot, 5 carrots, 1 apple, 1 handful of spinach
-1 handful of kale, 4 stalks celery, 4 carrots, 1 apple, 1 orange
– 2 cucumbers, 1/2  a melon, 1 piece of fresh ginger, 4 stalks celery
-1 handful of kale, 1 bunch broccoli leaves, 4 carrots, 1 beetroot, 2 oranges

Evening:
-¼ head purple cabbage, 1 beetroot, 2 carrots, 2 apples, 2 tomatoes
-1 cup spinach, 4 carrots, 1 beetroot, 2 pears, 5 mint leaves
– Handful of lentil sprouts, 2 broccoli leaves, 1 beetroot, 3 carrots, 1/4 of a pineapple
– 2 cucumbers, handful of mint leaves, 1 parsley bunch, piece of ginger, 1 pink grapefruit

Juice on!!!

One thought on “Why we Juiced

Leave a Reply

