Musings of my Day

It’s 2pm and I have yet to clean my house, attack the monster that hides beneath all the dirty laundry, wash the mountain of dishes, study, follow – up with clients, and take a shower.

But at least I worked out this morning and made freshly juiced carrot, kale, apple, ginger, and celery juice (say that 10 times). And set the veggies aside for round two of juicing. I finally gave it my first go at my broker’s exam, pre-approved a special client on a new vehicle, and wrote a couple of recipes. And I challenged myself. I am overwhelmed at the amount of things that I have to complete some important and some not so much.

I challenged myself once again. I have faith. Lots of it bigger than I or any can imagine. But I have never ever read the whole bible. Why? I have not had the guts to commit to it.So this year the challenge is to read the bible all of it. In no particular order.

I’ve always had a wholehearted faith, but have never read all the books of the Bible. I’m actually really looking forward to doing this. I wasn’t raised in church every Sunday but grew up in a home that loved God, honored God and thanked him daily. My parents instilled biblical foundations in us. When I was a little girl I lived in Honduras for a while, my grandmother taught me what faith and commitment looked like. She was a God-fearing and loving woman. She got on her knees everyday and prayed for hours at a time. I did not understand it then, but I do know. Her and my parents taught me the roots of Christianity they grew in my. First as curiosity to know who this God was and then as faith of the one and only savior. I remember questioning them all Christians, Catholics, Jehovah Witnesses, Mormons, etc. They all had one thing in common, a man by the name of Jesus. It became a deep-set childlike faith. As I grew older, I grew more interested in the facts of the Bible (especially when the Da Vinci Code was written, this book was mesmerizing to me, all the possibilities). I think God allows those seeds of doubt and question so that we will dive more into his Word. I bought book after book about religion and really began to piece together my Christian beliefs by myself. I concluded that they were all wrong, religion was not for me. But a relationship with God was. Still, to this day, I’ve never learned the Bible. I’ve never really lived out and gotten lost in the pages or cried with the characters in each story. I’m really nervous about this for some reason –

Grace not perfection, friends!

Leave a Reply

