Pepitas and Butternut Squash Salad

After all the gluttony that took place in the last month in the form of lots of peppermint bark, yummy bunuelos, and lots of high caloric holiday food and NO gym time, I figured I was due for a healthful salad  with tons of good for you color. Arugula, pepitas (pumpkin seeds), butternut squash, golden grape tomatoes, red tomatoes, & the wonderful avocado . It’s our form of detox–good for you organic, colorful salad. And since its  January summer in California this salad is perfect. I paired this salad with whole wheat baguette slices that I toasted over garlic olive oil.

I always make my salad dressings at home. Its so easy, healthy, and the possibilities are endless.

I made this salad after our afternoon run at Prospect Park (killer hills), it was just what our bodies needed and we both loved it. It felt good to chow down such a good mix of superfoods–while watching the “Never Say Never Justin B. Movie” (Don’t judge)! 🙂 My little sister & I have more in common than she knows.   And now that my little confession is out  like most salads, this was very, very easy to throw together.

Salad

  • 4 ounces of baby arugula
  • 1 cup halved golden grape tomatoes
  • 1 red tomato large diced
  • 1/4 cup of pepitas (got mine from my local health-food store)
  • 1/2 avocado ( got these from my in-laws avocado tree. Amazing.)
  • Freshly ground Black Pepper
  • Toasted whole wheat bread

Cranberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 TSP Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 TBS of cranberry relish (home-made)
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Freshly ground Black Pepper

* Got all of the ingredients at Trade Joe’s no need for anything super expensive.*

  1. Combine all ingredients except olive oil in a mason jar. Shake well.
  2. Add olive oil, cover tightly, and shake well until combined.
  3. Serve over salad.
Leave a Reply

