Breakfast Stuffed Poblano Peppers

Sooooo… you might have noticed that I’ve been pretty much MIA. As you may know, for the past year we’ve been working on building our own business, Johnny Jaquez Photography & learning my family business Meza Auto Sales. We have also embarked on a mission to make our house a home. I’ve certainly complained enough about the long hours and lack of time, but its quite inspiring to see what we are building with our little hands.  So I will be sharing what I HAVE been making, even if it’s not edible. But for now… its pepper time. What is not to love about a stuffed poblanos? Seriously. Specially for breakfast! Unless you don’t like any spice at all. And by “at all” I mean “at all,” I don’t do spicy foods. I always ask for toddler approve spicy when I go to my favorite Indian Restaurant.  But if you are too afraid to try it…well sorry to say but you might have to sit this one out.

But seriously don’t these peppers make you want to try something new? It’s good to spice things up once in a while. You know, like deciding to update your bathroom with out a real plan in mind. My motto & Nike’s is “just do it.” Variety is the spice of life ;-)   Good food and spur of the moment decisions will enrich your life. Hopefully, if you’ve made your way here, you feel the same way.  

Roasted Poblanos stuffed with a Refried Beans, Fried Egg, & Tomatillo Salsa

  • 2 poblano peppers ( find them at your local farmers market or Mexican Store)
  • 2 fried eggs
  • 1 cup refried beans (can or freshly made)
  • 1/4 cup tomatillo salsa or any salsa you have
  • 1/2 chopped tomato
  • 1 tbsp sour cream

1. Start by roasting the peppers, I roast them the way my mama taught me. I place them over the fire range and roast them for about 15 minutes until they start to turn black and are tender. Allow them to cool slightly. When they are cool enough to handle, begin to gently remove the skins by peeling them back. You can also use a paring knife to do this.  Once the skins are removed, make a slit down one side to open them up and remove the seeds. Keep peppers warm until its time to stuff them and serve.

2. Meanwhile fry an egg add tomatillo salsa.

3. Warm up the beans.

4. Stuff beans into the pepper. Top with the fried egg, tomatillo salsa, tomatoes, and sour cream. Feel free to use any toppings you like. Cilantro and pickled onions are always GOOD!

enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Stuffed Poblano Peppers

    • m&m thanks for stopping by…seriously this is such a tasty and satisfying breakfast! Pair it with a nice cup of coffee and your morning is all that better :-) Let me know if you try it

  1. Pingback: Feautured!!! « We Make a Beautiful Mess

Leave a Reply

